Help

Welcome!

This community is for professionals and enthusiasts of our products and services. Share and discuss the best content and new marketing ideas, build your professional profile and become a better marketer together.

ESP32 38R I/O Serial Communication Through Rx and Tx

Osama Bilal

Hi, 

I have an issue where I am trying to connect a display to my PLC and send some data to the screen from a temperature sensor. The issue I am having is that it seems my screen is not picking up the data for some reason. Now my PLC has two RX and TX ports but how will I define them in my code? For example, do I define them using the Arduino Pins and using software serial, although I prefer hardware serial, or is their another way to use them.

Also, when I use the RS232 library, I get a message notifying me that no such library exists. I am new to this device and I appreciate any help you can offer. The code is below and your thank you. 

#include <Arduino.h>

#include <stdio.h> 

//#include <RS232.h> 

#include <genieArduino.h>

Genie genie; 

// RX and Tx pin 

//#define RXpin RX

//#define TXpin TX

//#define resetpin Reset

// gpio 34 as analog to digital pins + input only pins 

#define temp_in_pin I0_2 // analog input : PLC Pinout IO.2 : Arduino Pin 54 : this is from the User Guide 

// int temp_in_pin = I1_8;  

float temp_read; 

//mV assuming 250 Ohms resistors in series // values should technically be int, but compiler takes 'smaller' data types and converts into 'larger' data types

float input_min = 1000;      // minimum voltage input 

float rate_DegV = 0.075;     // degrees Farenheit per millivolt

float offset_temp = 2.4;     // offset voltage needs to be tested

// Temperature outputs using variables above 

float temperatureC; 

float temperatureF; 

// Temperature strings 

String Farh = " Farenheit"; 

String Celc = " Celcius"; 

void setup() {

// put your setup code here, to run once:

Serial.begin(9600); //